Friday May 15, 2020 Panofsky Auditorium, SUSB, SLAC

HONORING **BURTON RICHTER AMERICAN PHYSICIST** NOBEL LAUREATE SCIENTIFIC LEADER

AGENDA:

- 08:00 Welcoming Coffee
- 08:30 Welcome/Biographical Introduction JoAnne Hewett
- 08:45 Early e⁺e⁻; SPEAR Design & Implementation **Ewan Paterson**
- 09:25 SPEAR: Mark I and Science **Roy Schwitters**
- 10:05 Coffee
- 10:35 Highlights from 1976-1999 Jonathan Dorfan
- 11:10 Synchrotron Radiation Arthur Bienenstock
- 11:50 Burt and the DOE T. J. Glauthier
- 12:10 Burt, the APS and IUPAP

14:25 NLC/ILC **Barry Barish**

- 15:05 Climate Change and Energy in the 21st Century Lynn Orr
- 15:45 Coffee
- 16:15 Science and Technology Policy Norm Augustine
- 16:35 Burt and Stanford John Hennessy
- 16:45 Burt and Congress TBD
- 17:00 On Behalf of the Family TBD
- 18:30 Drinks and Refreshments Arrillaga Alumni Center

Judy Franz 12:30 Lunch 13:45 SLC Nan Phinney 19:30 Dinner Arrillaga Alumni Center After Dinner Speaker Nigel Lockyer

PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

Arthur Bienenstock, Marty Breidenbach, Jonathan Dorfan, JoAnne Hewitt (Chair), John Jaros, Melinda Lee, Gregory Loew, Vera Luth, Helen Quinn, Thomas Rizzo, Roy Schwitters

https://conf.slac.stanford.edu/honoringburtonrichter/

